Skip to main content

Advisory Group on Australia-Africa Relations

Advisory Group on Australia-Africa Relations

The Advisory Group on Australia-Africa Relations (AGAAR) was launched by the former Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Hon. Julie Bishop, on 4 September 2015. AGAAR has been tasked with informing Australia's engagement and policies on Sub-Saharan Africa.

AGAAR's membership reflects the broad nature of the contemporary relationship between Australia and the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa. Its members are drawn from business, academia, civil society and the public sector.

Members of the Advisory Group on Australia-Africa Relations

Photo of Dr Nadine Shema, Mr Henry Olonga, Dr Casta Tungaraza, Ms Santilla Chingaipe, Dr Ralph King, Ms Lisa Sharland, Mrs Di Fleming and Dr Mary Kimani.
AGAAR meeting on 24 May 2019 in Canberra. From left to right: Dr Nadine Shema; Mr Henry Olonga; Dr Casta Tungaraza (Chair); Ms Santilla Chingaipe; Dr Ralph King (DFAT ex officio); Ms Lisa Sharland; Mrs Di Fleming; Dr Mary Kimani. Credit: Joanne Stirling, DFAT.
Group photo of AGAAR members and the African Diplomatic Corp.
AGAAR members met with the African Diplomatic Corp at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Canberra 24 May 2019. Credit: Joanne Stirling, DFAT.
Last Updated: 18 October 2019
Back to top