Skip to main content

Sanctions regimes


Australia fully implements the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regime in relation to Guinea-Bissau.

The UNSC adopted resolution 2048 on 18 May 2012 imposing the sanctions regime in response to the military seizing power in Guinea-Bissau on 12 April 2012.

This page summarises the current sanctions measures imposed by the UNSC and implemented by Australia in relation to Guinea-Bissau.

This page also includes information on de-listing requests from a designated person and useful links.

Travel bans

Australian law prohibits the entry into or transit through Australia of a designated person for Guinea-Bissau without authorisation by the UNSC.

The Consolidated List includes the names of all designated persons.

Implementing legislation

De-listing requests from a designated person or entity

A person designated for the purposes of the UNSC sanctions regime in relation to Guinea-Bissau may submit a de-listing request either through the Focal Point for De-Listing established by UNSC resolution 1730 (2006), or through the person or entity's country of citizenship or residence.

Last Updated: 25 June 2014
Back to top