Skip to main content

Nuclear issues

Nuclear safety and security

Australia recognises the importance of implementing the highest levels of safety and security at all stages of the nuclear fuel cycle and in the peaceful use of nuclear energy. DFAT, including ASNO, coordinates a whole of government approach to nuclear safety and security including other agencies such as ANSTO and ARPANSA while also pursuing international cooperation such as through the Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT). These measures have enabled us to make progress on regulatory effectiveness and transparency, operational and design safety, emergency preparedness, protection and promotion of peaceful uses for nuclear material. They also seek to strengthen nuclear safety, facilitate international cooperation in the field of peaceful nuclear activities and the production, transfer and use of nuclear and other radioactive materials.

Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism

The Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT) is a voluntary international partnership of 88 nations (including Australia) and six international organizations that are committed to strengthening global capacity to prevent, detect, and respond to nuclear terrorism.

Australia has been an active participant in this initiative, including through organising regional workshops and involvement in the various working groups.

Nuclear Suppliers Group

The Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a group of nuclear supplier countries that seek to contribute to the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons by strengthening protections on nuclear exports and nuclear-related exports. Australia was one of the founding members of the NSG with the aim of ensuring non-diversion of nuclear transfers to unsafeguarded nuclear fuel cycle or nuclear explosive activities.

Zangger Committee

The Zangger Committee helps to prevent the diversion of exported nuclear items from peaceful purposes to nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices. It focuses on controlling transfers to states outside the Non-Proliferation Treaty.

Last Updated: 31 January 2019
Back to top