Skip to main content

Australia’s candidate for Executive Secretary of the CTBTO Preparatory Commission

Image of Dr Robert Floyd

Australia’s Minister for Foreign Affairs has announced that Dr Robert Floyd is Australia’s candidate for the position of Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO). This important international post leads the joint efforts of 184 countries to ensure a permanent end to nuclear weapon test explosions.

Dr Floyd is the Director-General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office, Australia’s national authority for implementation of various treaties to control weapons of mass destruction, including the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT).

Working at the interface of technical and political issues, Dr Floyd has a strong record of building consensus in international efforts to advance nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament. He would bring high-level technical, managerial and diplomatic leadership to the role of CTBTO Executive Secretary.

The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions on Earth, whether for military or for peaceful purposes. Australia has advocated at a high political level for such a ban since the 1980s and is a strong and active supporter for the treaty.

Past and present Executive Secretaries of the CTBTO are Dr Wolfgang Hoffmann of Germany (1997-2005), Ambassador Tibor Tóth of Hungary (2005-2013) and Dr Lassina Zerbo of Burkina Faso (2013- ).

Candidate video

Back to top