Skip to main content

Conventional weapons and missiles

Cluster Munitions

The Convention on Cluster Munitions prohibits all use, production, transfer and stockpiling of cluster munitions and establishes a framework for cooperation and assistance to ensure adequate care and rehabilitation for survivors and their communities, clearance of contaminated areas, risk reduction education and destruction of stockpiles.

The Convention was adopted on 30 May 2008, opened for signature on 3 December 2008 and entered into force on 1 August 2010. There are currently 90 State Parties to the Convention and a further 26 signatories.

Australia was among the original signatories to the Convention on 3 December 2008. On 21 August 2012, legislation implementing the Convention was passed by the Australian Parliament. The Convention entered into force for Australia on 1 April 2013.

Last Updated: 18 June 2014
Back to top