Skip to main content


Australian IMS Stations

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) requires the establishment and operation of more than 300 facilities to monitor the earth for any signs of a possible nuclear explosion. Australia hosts 20 IMS stations and a radionuclide laboratory - the third largest number of facilities in the IMS network. Some of these facilities existed before the CTBT was negotiated and many have been built since. The last was completed in 2018. As Australia’s National Authority for implementation of the CTBT, ASNO works with Australian agencies and institutes to ensure Australia meets its treaty commitments.

Australian stations stretch from 12 degrees south of the equator to 68 degrees south and from longitude 63 to 159 degrees east.

The radionuclide stations and laboratory are operated by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency. The stations at Melbourne and Darwin have facilities both for particulate monitoring and for noble gas monitoring.

The seismic and infrasound stations at Warramunga are operated by the Australian National University. Other seismic, infrasound and hydroacoustic stations are operated by Geoscience Australia (GA). The Alice Springs (PS03) station is run by GA jointly with the United States Air Force Technical Applications Centre.

A map showing the location of Australia's IMS stations. List of locations is below.

Primary seismic stations:

  • PS02 Warramunga, NT
  • PS03 Alice Springs, NT
  • PS04 Stephens Creek, NSW
  • PS05 Mawson, Antarctica

Auxiliary seismic stations:

  • AS004 Charters Towers, QLD
  • AS005 Fitzroy Crossing, WA
  • AS006 Narrogin, WA

Infrasound stations:

  • IS07 Warramunga, NT
  • IS05 Hobart, TAS
  • IS04 Shannon, WA
  • IS06 Cocos Islands
  • IS03 Davis Station, Antarctica

Radionuclide stations:

  • RN04 Melbourne, VIC
  • RN10 Perth, WA
  • RN06 Townsville, QLD
  • RN09 Darwin, NT
  • RN08 Cocos Islands
  • RN07 Macquarie Island, TAS
  • RN05 Mawson, Antarctica

Radionuclide laboratory:

  • RL02 Melbourne, VIC

Hydroacoustic station:

  • HA01 Cape Leeuwin, WA
Back to top