Skip to main content

MIKTA – Mexico, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Turkey, Australia

MIKTA Foreign Ministers’ Joint Statement on the Election of the Non-Permanent UN Security Council Members for the 2019-2020 period

13 June 2018

We, the Foreign Ministers of Mexico, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Turkey and Australia
(MIKTA), congratulate Indonesia, together with Germany, South Africa, the Dominican Republic
and Belgium, for their election as non-permanent members of the United Nations Security
Council for the 2019-2020 period, announced at the UN General Assembly on 8 June 2018.

Their election represents the international community's recognition and support for these
countries' valuable contributions to the maintenance of international peace and security, and
their strong commitment towards the achievement of the UN's principles and purposes.

We reaffirm our support to strengthening the UN's architecture for the maintenance of
international peace and security, including peacekeeping, peacebuilding and conflict prevention,
and the enhancement of the participation of women in these processes; the promotion of
multilateral measures to counter-terrorism in a comprehensive manner, and all ongoing efforts to
reform the UN system. All these actions contribute to the achievement of the 2030 Agenda for
Sustainable Development.

These efforts are reflected in MIKTA's core priorities, particularly on global security and counterterrorism,
peacekeeping, gender equality, democracy and good governance, and sustainable

Last Updated: 18 June 2018
Back to top