Skip to main content

Southeast Asia

Southeast Asian organisations

Australia is a member of a number of Southeast Asian regional organisations, through which we work collaboratively with our ASEAN neighbours to address shared challenges.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Australia's bilateral engagement with the countries of Southeast Asia is strengthened by our engagement with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the region's premier representative grouping. More about the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

More about why ASEAN matters: our shared prosperity.


The Quad

The Quad is a diplomatic network. It provides a vehicle for strategic exchange and positive, practical cooperation. It complements Australia's engagement in the ASEAN-led architecture, and our other bilateral, regional and multilateral cooperation.

More about Australia’s Quad partnership.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a forum of 21 Asia-Pacific economies. APEC's member economies are home to more than 2.7 billion people and make up over half of global GDP. APEC partners make up more than 70 per cent of Australia's total trade in goods and services. Closer regional economic integration contributes to Australian economic growth and prosperity.

More about the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum.

East Asia Summit (EAS)

The East Asia Summit (EAS) is the Indo-Pacific's premier forum for strategic dialogue. It is the only leader-led forum at which all key partners meet to discuss political, security and economic challenges facing the Indo-Pacific, and has an important role to play in advancing closer regional cooperation.

More about the East Asian Summit.

ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF)

Established in 1994, the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) is an important platform for security dialogue in the Indo-Pacific. It provides a setting in which members can discuss current security issues and develop cooperative measures to enhance peace and security in the region.

More about the ASEAN Regional Forum.

Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM)

The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is a process of dialogue and cooperation involving 21 Asian countries and the ASEAN Secretariat along with the European Union and its 27 member states, plus Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. ASEM links Asia and Europe by facilitating discussion on political, economic and cultural relations.

More about the Asia-Europe Meeting.

Back to top