Skip to main content


Australia and the G20

Australia is the 2014 president of the Group of Twenty (G20), a key forum for international economic cooperation. The G20 consists of 19 countries and the European Union, representing around 86 per cent of global GDP, more than 75 per cent of global trade and two-thirds of the world's population. Since 2008, the G20 has worked to manage global economic and financial risks. The G20 continues to focus on measures to support global economic growth, with a strong emphasis on promoting job creation and open trade.

Hosting the G20 in 2014 gives Australia a valuable opportunity to influence the economic policies of the major economies of the world and contribute to a healthy global economy. In 2014, the G20 is moving to address the global growth challenge in an ambitious and meaningful way. The G20 Leaders' Summit in 2014 will be held on 15 and 16 November in Brisbane, Queensland. Australia took over the presidency of the G20 on 1 December 2013 from Russian Federation, and Turkey will succeed Australia in 2015.

G20 members
Argentina Australia
Brazil Canada
China France
Germany India
Indonesia Italy
Japan Republic of Korea
Mexico Russian Federation
Saudi Arabia South Africa
Turkey United Kingdom
United States European Union

Official G20 website:

For more information see:,

The G20 is

The G20 is: 85.9% of Global GDP; 76.3% of World Trade; 64.4% of World Population
Last Updated: 2 February 2015
Back to top