45 Australian Delegation, United Nations, to Department of External Affairs

Cablegram UN1135 (extract) NEW YORK, 18 November 1947, 3.11 p.m.


Assembly 165.

1. The Assembly at its 118th Plenary meeting adopted Australian resolutions determining that Eire, Portugal, Transjordan, Italy, and Finland are entitled to membership and recommending reconsideration of applications by Security Council (document A/471). Assembly also adopted the United States resolution requesting reconsideration of the Austrian application. [1]

1 Pakistan and Yemen were admitted on 30 September, 1947, but it was not until 14 December, 1955, that the super-powers agreed to the admission of sixteen states en bloc. They included, on Western sponsorship, Austria, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Jordan and Portugal and, from the Eastern camp, Albania, Bulgaria, Hungary and Roumania. Mongolia was admitted on 27 October, 1961.

[AA : A1838, 852/10/3, i]