17 Department of External Affairs to Hodgson

Cablegram 169 CANBERRA, 10 January 1946


My immediately preceding telegram. [1] Provisional credentials.

The Australian Delegation at the First Session of the General Assembly is as follows:-

Delegates: Honourable N. J. 0. Makin, Minister of State for the Navy and Munitions.

Right Honourable J. A. Beasley, Resident Australian Minister in the United Kingdom.

Lieutenant-Colonel W. R. Hodgson, Australian Minister to France.

Alternate: Mr. A. Watt.

Delegates: Professor K. H. Bailey.

Dr. E. R. Walker.

Mr. P. Hasluck.

Mr. A. Tange.

Assistants: Mr. S. Atyeo.

Mr. T. Glasheen.

Mr. A. Renouf.

Secretary to the Delegation: Mr. T. Glasheen.

The Minister of State for External Affairs authorises the Delegates and Alternate Delegates listed above to take part in the proceedings of the General Assembly on behalf of the Australian Government. The Minister for External Affairs requests that this telegram be accepted as provisional credentials and advises that such provisional credentials will be followed by formal credentials signed by him.

1 These cablegrams were sent on Evatt's behalf. There is no indication of authorship.

[AA:A1838 T189, 852/4/1/1, i]