New Colombo Plan - Connect to Australia's future, study in the region. Australian Government

Foreign Minister farewells New Colombo Plan students

On Monday 17 March Foreign Minister Julie Bishop met with two Australian students who will soon depart for Japan to study under the New Colombo Plan.

The Australian National University (ANU) is one of the 24 Australian universities offered grants for student study experiences in the pilot destinations of Indonesia, Japan, Hong Kong and Singapore.

Under the New Colombo Plan, fifteen ANU students will undertake courses in Japanese language, international relations, politics, economics and sociology in Japan.

The two students, Helen Trezise and Laura Ferguson, noted that the New Colombo Plan presented them with an important opportunity to enhance their study outcomes.

Both students will spend a semester at Japan's Akita International University, undertaking classes including Japanese language, which they are studying at ANU.

Around 300 students are departing Australia under the first tranche of the New Colombo Plan, followed later in the year by a second tranche and the announcement of 40 prestigious for longer-term scholarships across the pilot locations.

The Australian Government will expand the New Colombo Plan to other locations across the Indo-Pacfic region from 2015.

More Information