Guidelines for traditional visitors travelling under the Torres Strait Treaty

The Torres Strait Treaty sets the boundary between Australia and PNG and established the Torres Strait Protected Zone to protect the traditional way of life of Torres Strait Islanders and the coastal people of PNG who live adjacent to the Torres Strait. The Protected Zone also protects the land and sea environment of the Torres Strait.

The Treaty allows free movement (without passports or visas) between Australia and Papua New Guinea for traditional acti viti es in the Protected Zone and nearby areas.

PNG traditional inhabitants come from Bula, Mari, Jarai, Tais, Buji/Ber, Sigabadaru, Mabadauan, Old Mawatt a, Ture Ture, Kadawa, Katatai, Parama and Sui (the 13 PNG Treaty Villages). They can make traditional visits (free movement without passports) into the Protected Zone. PNG traditional inhabitants can travel south into Australia as far as the 10 degrees 30 minutes South lati tude (near Number One Reef).

Australian traditional inhabitants come from Badu, Boigu, Poruma (Coconut Island), Erub (Darnley Island), Dauan, Kubin, St Pauls, Mabuiag, Mer (Murray Island), Saibai, Ugar (Stephen Island), Warraber (Sue Island), Iama (Yam Island) and Masig (Yorke Island). They can make traditional visits to the PNG Treaty Villages and travel north as far as the 9 degrees South lati tude (just north of Daru).

While on a traditional visit you must:

Free Movement and Traditional Activities

Special instructions for Traditional Inhabitants travelling to Australia:

Traditional Fishing:

Biosecurity and Quarantine

Endangered Species

Australian Maritime Zones in the Torres Strait
Designated Landing Places for Australian Communities