Department Foreign Affairs & Trade  
Annual Report - Contents
DFAT Annual Report 1998-99

Glossary of Abbreviations and Acronyms


ACIAR Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
ADCNET Australian Diplomatic Communications Network
AFTA-CER ASEAN Free Trade Agreement–Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement
AJF Australia–Japan Foundation
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
APEC Australia–Pacific Economic Cooperation (includes Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong SAR, Indonesia, Japan, Korea [Republic of], Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, the United States, and Vietnam)
APS Australian Public Service
ARF ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations (includes Brunei Darussalam, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam)
ASIS Australian Secret Intelligence Service
ASNO Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office
AusAID Australian Agency for International Development
AUSMIN Australian–US Ministerial Consultations
Austrade Australian Trade Commission
BOP Balance of payments
BSE Bovine spongiform encephalopathy
Cairns Group (A group of 15 agricultural exporting countries: includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Fiji, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Paraguay, the Philippines, South Africa, Thailand and Uruguay)
CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
DFAT Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
DIMA Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs
DPRK Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (also known as North Korea)
ECOSOC Economic and Social Council (of the United Nations)
EEO Equal employment oppportunity
EFIC Export Finance and Insurance Corporation
ESCAP Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
EU European Union (includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
G7 Group of Seven (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom and the United States)
G16 Group of Sixteen (Australia, Brazil, Canada, Cote d’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, South Africa and Sweden)
GSCC Global Support and Communications Centre
HOM Head of Mission
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
ILO International Labour Organisation
IMF International Monetary Fund
IOC International Olympics Committee
IOR-ARC Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation
JSCOT Joint Standing Committee on Treaties
LAN Local area network
LNG Liquified natural gas
Mercosur The Southern Cone Common Market (of South America), (includes Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, and Paraguay)
MP Member of Parliament
NAFTA North American Free Trade Area
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organization
NGO Non-government organisation
NNS Non-national Secure (‘in-confidence’ communications system)
NZ New Zealand
OECD Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (includes Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea [Republic of], Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States)
OH&S Occupational health and safety
OPCW Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
Paris Club A group of nations that meets on a case-by-case basis to reach a common approach on rescheduling or reducing the debt service on official loans to their countries. Members are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland (Republic of), Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States. There are a few additional ad hoc member countries.
PECC Pacific Economic Cooperation Committee
PNG Papua New Guinea
PPQ Possible parliamentary question
ROK Republic of Korea (also known as South Korea)
SES Senior Executive Service
SOCOG Sydney Organising Committee for the Olympic Games
SOG Senior Officer Grade
SPS Sanitary and phytosanitary
TSE Transmissible spongiform encephalopathy
UAE United Arab Emirates
UK United Kingdom
UN United Nations
UNAMET United Nations Mission in East Timor
UNESCO United Nations Education, Social and Cultural Organization
UNIDROIT Administrative Council of the International Institute for the Unification of Private Law
UNSCR United Nations Security Council Resolution
UNSCOM United Nations Special Commission (in relation to weapons inspection in Iraq)
US United States
VAT Value added tax
WGDDRIP Working Group on the Draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (of the United Nations)
WGIP Working Group on Indigenous Populations (of the United Nations)
WTO World Trade Organization
Y2K Year 2000

| Contents