The Department

Council Members

Aid Advisory Council

Go to Foreign Affairs Council

Go to Trade Policy Advisory Council


  • The Hon Alexander Downer MP Minister for Foreign Affairs

Deputy Chairman

  • The Hon Kathy Sullivan MP Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs


  • The Hon Jim Carlton Secretary General, Australian Red Cross Society
  • Ms Margaret Conley CEO, Australian Expert Service Overseas Program
  • Professor Ron Duncan Professor of Economics, Australian National University Executive Director, National Centre for Development Studies, Australian National University
  • The Most Reverend Ian George AM Archbishop of Adelaide
  • Ms Jill Lester Head of Group Corporate Relations, Commonwealth Bank
  • Dr Ian Lin Managing Director, Quo Vadis Consulting Group
  • Professor Peter Lloyd Ritchie Professor of Economics, University of Melbourne Director, Asian Economics Centre, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Gaye Phillips Chief Executive, UNICEF Australia
  • Professor Richard Robison Professor of Asian and International Politics, Murdoch University Director, Asia Research Centre, Murdoch University
  • Mr Charles Tapp Chief Executive, CARE Australia
  • Professor Cliff Walsh Professor and Executive Director, South Australian Centre for Economic Studies

Ex-officio Members

  • Dr Ashton Calvert Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Ms Janet Hunt Executive Director, Australian Council for Overseas Aid
  • Mr Trevor Kanaley Director General, Australian Agency for International Development


Return to List of Appendices

Return to Table of Contents

This page last modified: Tuesday, 16-Sep-2003 13:11:01 EST

Local Date: Wednesday, 28-Jan-2015 17:38:40 EST