Annual Report 2008-2009

Annual Report home |

Table of Contents |

Userguide |

Download versions

1. Overviews2. Performance3. Corporate4. Appendixes5. Financials6. Glossaries and Compliance Index

Your location: Glossaries and Compliance Index > Glossary of acronyms and abbreviations

Glossary of acronyms and abbreviations

AANZFTA ASEAN–Australia–New Zealand FTA
ACAP Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels
ACBC Australia–China Business Council
ACC Australia–China Council
ACIAR Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
ACI–FTA Australia–Chile Free Trade Agreement
ACTA Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement
ADF Australian Defence Force
AFP Australian Federal Police
AIC Australia–India Council
AICC Australia International Cultural Council
AII Australia–Indonesia Institute
AIMF Australia–Indonesia Ministerial Forum
AIP Australia–Indonesia Partnership
AJF Australia–Japan Foundation
AKF Australia–Korea Foundation
ALABC Australia–Latin America Business Council
AMI Australia–Malaysia Institute
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
ANZCERTA     Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement
APc Asia Pacific community
APEC Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (forum)
APIS Australian Passport Information Service
APO Australian Passport Office
APS Australian Public Service
AQIS Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service
ARF ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations
ASEM Asia–Europe Meeting
ASNO Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office
ATI Australia–Thailand Institute
ATWS Australian Tsunami Warning System
AUKMIN Australia–United Kingdom Ministerial Dialogue
AusAID Australian Agency for International Development
AUSFTA Australia–United States Free Trade Agreement
AUSMIN Australia–United States Ministerial Consultations
Austrade Australian Trade Commission
CAAR Council for Australian–Arab Relations
CAIS Consular Assistance and Information System
CAP Common Agricultural Policy (European Union)
CCAMLR Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources
CESCR (UN) Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
CHOGM Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting
COALAR Council on Australia Latin America Relations
CTBT Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty
DAFF Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
DAP Direct Aid Program
DEWHA Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
DFAT Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
DIAC Department of Immigration and Citizenship
DPRK Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (also known as North Korea)
EABC European Australian Business Council
EAS East Asia Summit
EC European Commission
EFIC Export Finance and Insurance Corporation
ERT Emergency Response Team
EU European Union
FMCT Fissile Material Cut-off Treaty
FMIS Financial Management Information System
FOI freedom of information
FRSC (Pacific Islands) Forum Regional Security Committee
FTA free trade agreement
FTAAP Free Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific
GCC Gulf Cooperation Council
GCCSI Global Carbon Capture and Storage Institute
G8 Group of Eight (member countries Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States)
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
ICNND International Commission for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament
ICT information and communications technology
IMV International Media Visits
IOR–ARC Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation
IP Intellectual Property
IRENA International Renewable Energy Agency
ISAF International Security Assistance Force
IWC International Whaling Commission
JAUSMIN Australia–Japan ‘2+2’ Joint Foreign and Defence Ministerial Consultations
JCLEC Jakarta Centre for Law Enforcement Cooperation
JCPAA (Parliamentary) Joint Committee on Public Accounts and Audit
JSCFADT (Parliamentary) Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade
JSCOT (Parliamentary) Joint Standing Committee on Treaties
LES locally engaged staff
LNG liquefied natural gas
MAFTA Malaysia–Australia Free Trade Agreement
MOU memorandum of understanding
MTCR Missile Technology Control Regime
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NGO non-government organisation
NPT Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
ODIN Official Diplomatic Information Network
OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OHS occupational health and safety
OPO Overseas Property Office
OSCE Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe
PACER Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations
PBS Portfolio Budget Statements
PIF Pacific Islands Forum
PNG Papua New Guinea
PPD Pacific Partnerships for Development
PSI Proliferation Security Initiative
PSWPS Pacific Seasonal Worker Pilot Scheme
RAMSI Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands
ROK Republic of Korea (also known as South Korea)
R2P Responsibility to Protect principle
SAARC South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
SAFTA Singapore–Australia Free Trade Agreement
SATIN Secure Australian Telecommunications and Information Network
SES Senior Executive Service
SGP Strongim Gavman Program (PNG)
SLA Service Level Agreement
STARS Statistical Trade Analysis and Retrieval System
SVP Special Visits Program
TAFTA Thailand–Australia Free Trade Agreement
TPP Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement
TSD Trilateral Strategic Dialogue
UAE United Arab Emirates
UN United Nations
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNFCCC United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
UNGA United Nations General Assembly
UNHCR United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
UNSC United Nations Security Council
US United States of America
WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization
WMD Weapons of Mass Destruction
WTO World Trade Organization

Return to top of page