Annual Report 2003-2004

Annual Report home |

Table of Contents |

Userguide |

Download versions

1. Overviews2. Performance3. Corporate4. Financials5. Appendixes6. Glossaries and Compliance Index

Your location: Appendixes > 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Appendix 13

Summary of the overseas network

Following is a summary of the overseas network as at 30 June 2004. A comprehensive listing of the overseas network, including arrangements for the accreditation and responsibilities of overseas posts is available at the department's website, This information is updated regularly.

Table 33. Embassies, high commissions, consulates and multilateral missions managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (85 posts)
Country of location City Post type
Argentina Buenos Aires Embassy
Austria Vienna Embassy/Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bangladesh Dhaka High Commission
Belgium Brussels Embassy/Mission to the European Union
Brazil Brasilia Embassy
Brunei Darussalam Bandar Seri Begawan High Commission
Burma Rangoon Embassy
Cambodia Phnom Penh Embassy
Canada Ottawa High Commission
Chile Santiago Embassy
China, People's Republic of Beijing
Hong Kong SAR
Croatia Zagreb Embassy
Cyprus Nicosia High Commission
Denmark Copenhagen Embassy
East Timor Dili Embassy
Egypt Cairo Embassy
Federated States of Micronesia Pohnpei Embassy
Fiji Suva High Commission
France Paris*
Delegation to the OECD
Germany Berlin Embassy
Ghana Accra High Commission
Greece Athens Embassy
Hungary Budapest Embassy
India New Delhi High Commission
Indonesia Jakarta
Bali (Denpasar)
Iran Tehran Embassy
Iraq Baghdad Embassy
Ireland Dublin Embassy
Israel Tel Aviv Embassy
Italy Rome Embassy
Japan Tokyo Embassy
Jordan Amman Embassy
Kenya Nairobi High Commission
Kiribati Tarawa High Commission
Korea, Republic of Seoul Embassy
Laos Vientiane Embassy
Lebanon Beirut Embassy
Malaysia Kuala Lumpur High Commission
Malta Valletta High Commission
Mauritius Port Louis High Commission
Mexico Mexico City Embassy
Nepal Kathmandu Embassy
Netherlands The Hague Embassy
New Caledonia Noumea Consulate-General
New Zealand Wellington High Commission
Nigeria Abuja High Commission
Pakistan Islamabad High Commission
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby High Commission
Philippines Manila Embassy
Poland Warsaw Embassy
Portugal Lisbon Embassy
Russia Moscow Embassy
Samoa Apia High Commission
Saudi Arabia Riyadh Embassy
Serbia and Montenegro Belgrade Embassy
Singapore Singapore High Commission
Solomon Islands Honiara High Commission
South Africa Pretoria High Commission
Spain Madrid Embassy
Sri Lanka Colombo High Commission
Sweden Stockholm Embassy
Switzerland Geneva
Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Permanent Mission to the WTO/Consulate-General
Thailand Bangkok Embassy
Tonga Nuku'alofa High Commission
Trinidad and Tobago Port of Spain High Commission
Turkey Ankara Embassy
United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi Embassy
United Kingdom London High Commission
United States of America Washington DC
Los Angeles
New York
New York
Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Vanuatu Port Vila High Commission
Vatican City Vatican City† Embassy
Vietnam Hanoi
Ho Chi Minh City
Zimbabwe Harare Embassy

*  The permanent delegation to UNESCO is located within the embassy in Paris.

†  Embassy to the Holy See.

In Nauru, the department maintains an Australian Administrative Centre to facilitate mutual cooperation on processing applications from asylum seekers and coordinating the activity of Australian officials working with the Nauru Government.

In Ramallah, the Australian Government maintains the Australian Representative Office. The Office manages dealings with the Palestinian Authority in the West Bank and Gaza and has responsibility for Australia's development assistance program for the Palestinians.

In Taipei, the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry maintains the Australian Commerce and Industry Office, the staff of which includes staff seconded from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Austrade, the Department of Education, Science and Training and the Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs.

Table 34. Consulates managed by Austrade (17 posts)
Country of location City Post type
Brazil Sao Paulo Consulate-General
Canada Toronto Consulate-General
Germany Frankfurt Consulate-General
India Mumbai Consulate-General
Italy Milan Consulate-General
Japan Fukuoka
New Zealand Auckland Consulate-General
Peru Lima Consulate-General
Romania Bucharest Consulate-General
Turkey Istanbul Consulate-General
United Arab Emirates Dubai Consulate-General
United States of America Atlanta
San Francisco

Table 35. Consulates headed by honorary consuls (49 posts)
Country of location City
Angola Luanda
Bolivia La Paz
Brazil Rio de Janeiro
Bosnia-Herzogovina Sarajevo*
Bulgaria Sofia
Canada Vancouver
Colombia Bogota
Czech Republic Prague
Ecuador Guayaquil
Estonia Tallinn
Finland Helsinki*
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Skopje
French Polynesia Papeete
Greece Thessaloniki
Indonesia Balikpapan*
Korea, Republic of Pusan
Latvia Riga
Lithuania Vilnius
Malaysia Kota Kinabalu
Mexico Guadalajara
Mozambique Maputo
Nigeria Lagos
Norway Oslo
Pakistan Karachi
Papua New Guinea Lae
Russia St Petersburg
Slovenia Ljubljana
South Africa Cape Town*
Spain Barcelona
Thailand Chiang Mai
Koh Samui
Ukraine Kyiv
United Kingdom Edinburgh
United States of America Boston*
Uruguay Montevideo

* Vacant as at 30 June 2004

Table 36. Places where Canada provides consular services to Australian citizens
Consular area Canadian post responsible Australian supervising post
Afghanistan Kabul Islmabad
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou Abuja
Cameroon Yaounde Abuja
Congo, Democratic Republic of Kinshasa Harare
Costa Rica San Jose Mexico City
Còte d'Ivoire Abidjan Accra
Cuba Havana Mexico City
Ecuador Quito Santiago
Ethiopia Addis Ababa Nairobi
Gabon Libreville Abuja
Guatemala Guatemala City Mexico City
Guinea Conakry Abuja
Mali Bamako Abuja
Morocco Rabat Paris Embassy
Niger Niamey Abuja
The Gambia
Dakar Accra
Syria Damascus Cairo
Tanzania Dar es Salaam Nairobi
Tunisia Tunis Cairo
Venezuela Caracas Brasilia

Table 37. Places where Australia provides consular services to Canadian citizens
Consular area Australian post responsible Canadian supervising post
Burma Rangoon Bangkok
Cambodia Phnom Penh Bangkok
East Timor Dili Jakarta
Federated States of Micronesia
Marshall Islands
Northern Marianas
Pohnpei Canberra
French Polynesia Noumea Wellington
Nusa Tenggara Barat
Bali (Denpasar) Jakarta
Hawaii Honolulu Los Angeles
Kiribati Tarawa Wellington
Laos Vientiane Bangkok
Nauru Suva Canberra
New Caledonia Noumea Canberra
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby Canberra
Samoa Apia Wellington
Solomon Islands Honiara Canberra
Tonga Nuku'alofa Wellington
Vanuatu Port Vila Canberra

Return to top of page

Next page: Glossaries and Compliance Index
Previous page: List of sponsors

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Annual Report 2003–2004
Home | Table of Contents | Userguide | Download versions
Overviews | Performance | Corporate | Financials | Appendixes | Glossaries and Compliance Index

Australian Government
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Home | Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy


Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS