Skip to content
Australian Government - Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Advancing the interests of Australia and Australians internationally

Australian Government - Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Advancing the interests of Australia and Australians internationally

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade :: 2001-2002 Annual Report
Contents Guide Overviews Performance Corporate
spacer image
Financials Appendixes Glossaries Search Options

Previous | Next  

Appendix 15
Summary of the overseas network

A comprehensive listing of the overseas network, including arrangements for the accreditation and responsibilities of overseas posts is available at the department's website, These listings are updated regularly.

Table 36. Embassies, high commissions, consulates and multilateral missions managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (84 posts)

Country of location City Post type
Argentina Buenos Aires Embassy
Austria Vienna Embassy/Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bangladesh Dhaka High Commission
Barbados Bridgetown High Commission
Belgium Brussels Embassy/Mission to the European Union
Brazil Brasilia Embassy
Brunei Darussalam Bandar Seri Begawan High Commission
Burma Rangoon Embassy
Cambodia Phnom Penh Embassy
Canada Ottawa High Commission
Chile Santiago Embassy

China, People's Republic of



Guangzhou Consulate-General
Hong Kong SAR Consulate-General
Shanghai Consulate-General
Croatia Zagreb Embassy
Cyprus Nicosia High Commission
Denmark Copenhagen Embassy
East Timor Dili Embassy
Egypt Cairo Embassy
Federated States of Micronesia Pohnpei Embassy
Fiji Suva High Commission
Country of location City Post type
France Paris[*] Paris Embassy Delegation to the OECD
Germany Berlin Embassy
Greece Athens Embassy
Hungary Budapest Embassy
India New Delhi High Commission




Bali (Denpasar) Consulate-General
Iran Tehran Embassy
Ireland Dublin Embassy
Israel Tel Aviv Embassy
Italy Rome Embassy
Japan Tokyo Embassy
Jordan Amman Embassy
Kenya Nairobi High Commission
Kiribati Tarawa High Commission
Korea, Republic of Seoul Embassy
Laos Vientiane Embassy
Lebanon Beirut Embassy
Malaysia Kuala Lumpur High Commission
Malta Valletta High Commission
Mauritius Port Louis High Commission
Mexico Mexico City Embassy
Nepal Kathmandu Embassy
Netherlands The Hague Embassy
New Caledonia Noumea Consulate-General
New Zealand Wellington High Commission
Nigeria Lagos High Commission
Pakistan Islamabad High Commission
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby High Commission
Philippines Manila Embassy
Poland Warsaw Embassy
Portugal Lisbon Embassy
Russia Moscow Embassy
Country of location City Post type
Samoa Apia High Commission
Saudi Arabia Riyadh Embassy
Singapore Singapore High Commission
Solomon Islands Honiara High Commission
South Africa Pretoria High Commission
Spain Madrid Embassy
Sri Lanka Colombo High Commission
Sweden Stockholm Embassy



Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Geneva Permanent Mission to the WTO/ Consulate-General
Thailand Bangkok Embassy
Tonga Nuku'alofa High Commission
Turkey Ankara Embassy
United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi Embassy
United Kingdom London High Commission

United States of America

Washington DC


Chicago Consulate-General
Honolulu Consulate-General
Los Angeles Consulate-General
New York Consulate-General
New York Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Vanuatu Port Vila High Commission
Vatican City Vatican City** Embassy
Venezuela Caracas Embassy




Ho Chi Minh City Consulate-General
Yugoslavia Belgrade Embassy
Zimbabwe Harare High Commission


* The permanent delegation to UNESCO is located within the embassy in Paris.

In Ramallah, the Australian Government maintains the Australian Representative Office. The Office manages dealings with the Palestinian Authority in the West Bank and Gaza and has responsibility for Australia's development assistance program for the Palestinians.

In Taipei, the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry maintains the Australian Commerce and Industry Office, the staff of which includes staff seconded from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Austrade, the Department of Education, Science and Training and the Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs.

** Embassy to the Holy See.

| Top |

Table 37. Consulates managed by Austrade (17 posts)

Country of location City Post type
Brazil Sao Paulo Consulate-General
Canada Toronto Consulate-General
Germany Frankfurt Consulate-General
India Mumbai Consulate-General
Italy Milan Consulate-General




Nagoya Consulate
Osaka Consulate-General
Sapporo Consulate
Sendai Consulate
New Zealand Auckland Consulate-General
Peru Lima Consulate-General
Romania Bucharest Consulate-General
Turkey Istanbul Consulate-General
United Arab Emirates Dubai Consulate-General

United States of America



San Francisco Consulate-General

| Top |

Table 38. Consulates headed by honorary consuls (48 posts)

Note: This list includes all locations for which a bilateral agreement is current.

Country of location City
Angola Luanda
Bolivia La Paz
Brazil Rio de Janeiro
Bulgaria Sofia
Canada Vancouver
Colombia Bogota
Czech Republic Prague
Ecuador Guayaquil
Estonia Tallinn
Finland Helsinki
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Skopje
French Polynesia Papeete
Ghana Accra
Greece Thessaloniki
Indonesia Balikpapan[*]

Korea, Republic of Pusan
Latvia Riga
Lithuania Vilnius
Malaysia Kota Kinabalu

Mexico Guadalajara

Mozambique Maputo
Norway Oslo
Pakistan Karachi
Papua New Guinea Lae
Russia St Petersburg

Slovenia Ljubljana
South Africa Cape Town*

Spain Barcelona

Thailand Chiang Mai
Koh Samui*

Ukraine Kyiv
United Kingdom Edinburgh

United States of America Boston[*]

Uruguay Montevideo

* Currently vacant

| Top |

Table 39. Places where Canada provides consular services to Australian citizens

Consular area Canadian post responsible Australian supervising post
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou Lagos
Cameroon Yaounde Lagos
Congo, Democratic Republic of Kinshasa Harare
Costa Rica San Jose Mexico City
Côte d'Ivoire Abidjan Lagos
Cuba Havana Mexico City
Ecuador Quito Caracas
Ethiopia Addis Ababa Nairobi
Gabon Libreville Lagos
Guatemala Guatemala City Mexico City
Guinea Conakry Lagos
Mali Bamako Lagos
Morocco Rabat Paris Embassy
Niger Niamey Lagos
Senegal The Gambia Dakar Lagos
Syria Damascus Cairo
Tanzania Dar es Salaam Nairobi
Tunisia Tunis Cairo

| Top |

Table 40. Places where Australia provides consular services to Canadian citizens

Consular area Australian post responsible Canadian supervising post
Burma Rangoon Bangkok
Cambodia Phnom Penh Bangkok
East Timor Dili Jakarta
Federated States of Micronesia



Marshall Islands
Northern Marianas
French Polynesia Noumea Wellington

Bali (Denpasar)


Nusa Tenggara Barat
Hawaii Honolulu Los Angeles
Kiribati Tarawa Wellington
Laos Vientiane Bangkok
Nauru Suva Canberra
New Caledonia Noumea Canberra
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby Canberra
Samoa Apia Wellington
Solomon Islands Honiara Canberra
Tonga Nuku'alofa Wellington
Vanuatu Port Vila Canberra

| Top |

| Contents | Guide | Overviews | Performance | Corporate |
| Financials | Appendixes | Glossaries | Search | Options |

Send us feedback.

Previous Topic: List of sponsors
Next Topic: Publications

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade